The Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award

The world may never again see an athlete dominate basketball for as long and as thoroughly as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. From the time he stepped on the court as Lewis Alcindor at Power Memorial High School in his native New York City, to the years he owned college basketball at UCLA to the time he retired as the NBA's all-time leader in nine statistical categories including the most points in NBA history, the 7-foot-2 superstar established himself as one of basketball's most talented and recognizable figures. Abdul-Jabbar's trademark skyhook was so precise and unstoppable it left defenders helpless. While one of Abdul-Jabbar's signature maneuvers, it is now widely considered basketball's most classic and lethal offensive move. Abdul-Jabbar brought finesse and agility to the center position, two traits he substituted for brute force and strength. He was the kind of player who graces a sport once in a lifetime. Past Winners

2024 Preseason Watch List

Player Name School
Armando Bacot UNC
Oumar Ballo Arizona
Aaron Bradshaw Kentucky
Johni Broome Auburn
Jordan Brown Memphis
Branden Carlson Utah
Donovan Clingan UConn
Josh Cohen Umass
N'Faly Dante Oregon
Hunter Dickinson Kansas
Eric Dixon Villanova
Zach Edey Purdue
Jesse Edwards West Virginia
Dawson Garcia Minnesota
Ryan Kalkbrenner Creighton
Aday Mara UCLA
Clifford Omoruyi Rutgers
Jamarion Sharp Ole Miss
Joel Soriano St Johns
Kel'el Ware Indiana

Kareem's Career Highlights

  • UCLA (1966-69)
College Playing Highlights
  • Three NCAA Championships with UCLA, 1967-69
  • National College Player of the Year, 1967, 1969
  • 1st Team All-America, 1967-69
  • NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player, 1967-69
  • Milwaulkee Bucks (1969-75)
  • Las Angeles Lakers (1975-89)
Pro Playing Highlights
  • NBA Championship with Milwaukee Bucks, 1971
  • NBA Championship with Los Angeles Lakers, 1980, 1982, 1985, 1987-88
  • NBA MVP, 1971-72, 1974, 1976-77, 1980
  • All-NBA First Team, 1971-74, 1976-77, 1980
  • All-Defensive First Team, 1974-75, 1979-81
  • Rookie of the Year, 1970
  • 19 Time All-Star
  • One of the 50 Greatest Players in NBA History

Past Winners

Year Player Name School
2023 Zach Edey Purdue
2022 Oscar Tshiebwe Kentucky
2021 Luka Garza University of Iowa
2020 Luka Garza University of Iowa
2019 Ethan Happ University of Wisconsin
2018 Angel Delgado Seton Hall University
2017 Przemek Karnowski Gonzaga University
2016 Jakob Poeltl University of Utah
2015 Frank Kaminsky University of Wisconsin