The Karl Malone Award

Karl Malone attended Louisiana Tech University due to its close proximity to his hometown of Summerfield, Louisiana. He led the Bulldogs to a Sweet 16 appearance and earned All-Southland honors in his three seasons while averaging 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game.

Nicknamed "The Mailman" in college because he always delivered, Karl Malone was not only one of the game’s great finishers in the open floor but also a polished offensive weapon in the half-court sets the Utah Jazz ran to perfection. John Stockton ran the point as the rugged Malone filled the lane or rolled to the basket. In fact, "Stockton to Malone" became the feared calling card of a devastating duo that produced nearly 1,000 wins with the same franchise and two trips to the NBA Finals.

The 14-time All Star was named the NBA’s Most Valuable Player twice in his career and also earned All-NBA First Team honors for an astounding eleven consecutive seasons starting in 1989. Malone scored 36,374 career points, second only to Kareem Abdul-Jabbar at the time of his enshrinement and scored 2,000 or more points a record twelve seasons, including eleven in a row. Malone won gold medals at the 1992 and 1996 Olympic Games, the first coming as a member of the original Dream Team.

Past Winners
2024 Winner

Photo of Jaedon LeDee Jaedon LeDee SDSU

Malone's Career Highlights

  • Louisiana Tech University (1982-85)
College Playing Highlights
  • Sixth All-Time leading scorer at school with 1,716 points
  • Sporting News Honorable Mention All-American, 1982-85
  • NABC 2nd Team All-American, 1985
  • AP Honorable Mention, 1985
  • Utah Jazz (1985-03)
  • Los Angeles Lakers (2003-04)
Pro Playing Highlights
  • NBA MVP, 1997, 1999
  • 11-time All-NBA First Team, 1988-99
  • All-Defensive First Team, 1997-99
  • 14-time All-Star, 1988-98, 2000-02
  • NBA All-Star Game MVP, 1989, 1993 (Co-MVP w/ teammate John Stockton)
  • NBA All-Rookie Team, 1985
  • One of 50 Greatest Players in NBA History, 1996
  • Two-time Olympic gold medalist, 1992, 1996

Past Winners

Year Player Name School
2023 Jaedon LeDee SDSU
2023 Trayce Jackson-Davis Indiana
2022 Keegan Murray Iowa
2021 Drew Timme Gonzaga University
2020 Obi Toppin University of Dayton
2019 Zion Williamson Duke University
2018 Deandre Ayton University of Arizona
2017 Johnathan Motley Baylor University
2016 Georges Niang Iowa State University
2015 Montrezl Harrell University of Louisville