Katrina McClain Award

Katrina McClain was a prolific rebounder and terrific scorer in a career that spanned three Olympic Games, three continents, and countless driveways, backyards, and arenas all over the world. Before she earned her stripes for USA Basketball, McClain starred at the University of Georgia where she was a two-time Kodak All-America and the WBCA National Player of the Year her senior season. She left Georgia as the school's second all-time leading scorer and rebounder, averaging a double-double her final two seasons in Athens. The Lady Bulldogs reached the 1985 NCAA Final Four and national championship game with McClain controlling the paint and Teresa Edwards running the offense. The two-time USA Basketball Female Athlete of the Year finished her international career with two Olympic gold medals and one bronze, three FIBA World Championships medals, and five medals at the Goodwill Games, Pan Am Games, and World University Games. In all Katrina McClain appeared on eleven USA Basketball rosters becoming one of the most decorated athletes in USA Basketball history.

Past Winners
2024 Winner

Player Name School
Photo of Kiki Iriafen Kiki Iriafen Stanford

McClain's Career Highlights

  • Georgia (1984-1987)
College Playing Highlights
  • Two-time Kodak All-American (1986, 1987)
  • Freshman All-American Team (1984)
  • First ever SEC Freshman of the year (1984)
  • National Player of the Year (1987)
  • WBCA Player of the Year (1987)
  • Georgia’s single season record holder for points (796), points per game (24.9), field goals made (310), free throws made (176), and free throws attempted (240)
  • Georgia’s career record holder for field goal percentage (62%)
  • Kyoto Petroleum – Japan (1989-1991)
  • Sidis Ancona – Italy (1992)
  • Valencia – Spain (1993-1995)
  • Galatasaray – Turkey (1995-1996)
  • Atlanta Glory – ABL (1998)
Pro Playing Highlights
  • ABL All-Star (1998)
  • Two-time gold medal winner in the Summer Olympics (1988, 1996)
  • One-time bronze medal winner in the Summer Olympics (1992)
  • USA Basketball’s Female Athlete of the Year (1988, 1992)

Past Winners

Year Player Name School
2024 Kiki Iriafen Stanford
2023 Maddy Siegrist Villanova
2022 NaLyssa Smith Baylor University
2021 NaLyssa Smith Baylor University
2020 Ruthy Hebard University of Oregon
2019 Napheesa Collier University of Connecticut
2018 Ruthy Hebard University of Oregon